Canadian in Candia

About

Hello and welcome to my little blog I hope that you find at least part of this little piece of the web interesting. I started this blog in March 2009 because I wanted to log my adventures in learning how to grow my own garden, raise my own chickens, prepare food from scratch, fix up my house, train a dog and improve my photography and art skills.  I also share a lot about our adventures in the great outdoors including life with an avid climber and ultra marathoner. There will probably also be some posts about my personal life, especially about my cats. I chose to host this blog on wordpress because it allows for categories, so if you’re only interested in one of the subjects I blog about feel free to only follow those aspects of my blog.

IMGP7951

I’m a 27 year old married woman who grew up in the suburbs of Toronto, Ontario and St. Catharines, Ontario. I hated the suburbs. In 2001 I moved to Boston to attend university on a Rowing Scholarship. I fell in love with a man (and his state) and moved to New Hampshire after graduation. In 2008 we bought our own little house on 2 acres in beautiful Candia, New Hampshire. We share the house with two cats, Audrey and “Happy”, and a standard poodle puppy, Cooper. I longed for my own Portuguese Water Dog, but went for the poodle instead. We also currently have a housemate named Ben the Intern.

I’ve been involved in amateur photography since I was 9 years old. I’ve actually won a few ribbons in state fairs, but have yet to get a best in show.

I became interested in Slow Food and Local Agriculture shortly after moving to New Hampshire. My husband grew up in rural New Hampshire raising their own chickens and pigs and I really enjoy some of the people at my local farmer’s market. I’m excited about growing my own vegetable garden and raising my own chickens. I’d like to raise my own heritage breed turkeys, but I’m not sure that will happen soon.

I enjoy being outside and can often be found hiking, rowing or just walking on the beach. I love doing yoga and like climbing and kayaking on occasion. I also like to curl up on the couch or deck and read a good book when I find time. I collect quotes, and enjoy making “art” as well (Note: Art being poorly made scribbles).

I have several other blogs that I use for other aspects of my life.

This about me last updated July 20th, 2009

2 Comments »

  1. Aww, I want a hedgehog. Also a ferret.

    Comment by dramaqueensmum — May 7, 2009 @ 10:18 pm

  2. Hello fellow Canuck! Or should I call you an “Am-Can” now? LOL
    I have an 8 mo old Standard Poodle, black,female. she is the greatest!! Love the pic of yours!

    Comment by z28gal — March 12, 2010 @ 1:41 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: