Canadian in Candia

May 7, 2009

My Tic the Ticks

Filed under: Bugs, Cats, Dogs — Tags: , , , , — Miriam @ 8:42 pm

I’ve always heard about ticks.  I didn’t really remember ever seeing one until a couple years ago when I found a wierd bug crawling on my sweater which Adam identified as a tick for me. We pulled one off his mother’s cat that had dug in under the cat’s chin.  It was an adventure to pull that one out. Adam pulled one off himself when we lived in Fremont. It was still alive and started making threatening motions towards Audrey. I grabbed my cat and rushed her to a room far away from the bloodsucker.

My experience with ticks prior to my move to New Hampshire consisted of mythical creatures.  They were extensively discussed in my “Kids who want to be Veterinarians” summer camp when I was 9 or 10 years old.  And I developed a disgust for them then and there.

In the last couple days I have probably had to deal with ten Ticks.  And by “deal with” I mean “honey can you kill this tick for me”.  We have pulled two ticks out of the puppy and I’ve taken at least three ticks out of his hair (including a tiny deer tick, carriers of lyme disease). I had three ticks crawling all over my clothes yesterday, and Adam had a couple on his.  I still havn’t had to pull any out of my or the cats’ skin, but I’m constantly convinced that every little itch is a tick.

Oh and they don’t seem to die when slapped, squished or stomped on.  They are pretty much indestructible!

I just spent a pretty penny to get Frontline for the cats, and will get what the vet recommends for the puppy when he gets to a more convienient size, but is there anything I can do to keep the ticks off me? Is it just a high tick year? It’s silly that I can handle the mosquitoes and black flies, but the ticks make me want to run back to the city… and take my pets with me.

1 Comment »

  1. Just in case you need…
    A better way to get rid of an embedded tick.

    The Tick Twister Pro is by far the easiest, fastest, safest and cleanest way to remove those nasty little critters that have attached themselves to family members, ourselves or our beloved pets.
    It does not twist like the name implies, it spins the ENTIRE tick at once.

    It can also be used on commercial livestock, (Not pets, but animals that are taken care and loved just as if they were.), horses, goats, sheep, pigs, etc…

    The Tick Twister Pro can be found on the web at many places but the lowest (total) price we have found so far was from us at Twist-It-Out.com.
    Visit the web site and take a look at the tool, it really is quite unique.
    The “Vee” shape “business” end of the tool MAY actually cut off the flow of fluids(not confirmed) out of the tick.

    We truly hope that this info helps anyone that needs a tick removal tool regardless of where you may end up purchasing it/them from.©

    Thanks for reading,
    Diane & Don
    Twist-It-Out.com

    Comment by Don Whateley — July 15, 2009 @ 3:12 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

