Canadian in Candia

May 6, 2009

Ode to my Brother

Filed under: Family — Tags: , — Miriam @ 1:59 pm

Mike, Mir and Adam in Montreal

I was looking at my Flickr account trying to find inspirations for future blog posts. I’m making a list so I can continue my chattering even on days when I feel I have nothing to say. Then I found this picture of my brother, myself and my husband on Mont Royal in Montreal. I starting thinking that I miss my brother. This is me, Miriam, I miss my brother. Do you read that mom? I wish he lived closer, heck I wish he lived in my house.

Why is this so astounding? This is a fairly recent development. As teenagers our relationship worked because we generally stayed out of each others way. I had a room upstairs in the North East corner of the house, his room was in the basement in the South West corner. We went to different high schools, played different sports. We hung out in completely different crowds. In short, I was the nerd who was so heavily involved in rowing that I didn’t have time for anything else. He, I perceived, was a slacker or at least a slow bloomer.

When I went to college, he was so involved in his friends, work and social life that we rarely saw each other on my short and rare visits home.

Since I’ve moved to our new house, my brother has come to visit me on long weekends a couple times. I’ve grown to appreciate that he’s a different person than me. He may be taking longer to find his way, but he is slowly figuring things out. He lives his life at a less hectic pace than my own, lets things bother him less and his dreams take longer to fully express themselves. But soon he’ll be a certified Electrician. He talks about someday owning his own business and maybe teaching. He lusts over my house and dreams of buying one of his own. He enjoys doing neat tricks on a Mountain Bike that would lead me to break every bone in my body. And he has a network of hardworking friends who really enjoy his company. I’ve realized that I never really knew him in high school. He could have been doing all sorts of neat things and I really wouldn’t have known.

IMGP7953

So after 24 years of coexistence on the planet (his birthday was a week ago, I probably liked him that first week) I can finally say that I like my little brother. I think this was the hope my mom had in having a second child, that we would like each other. I can’t wait to hang out with my little brother again.

I should have saved this post for Mother’s Day, or posted it on his birthday. But the spontaneous urge to write has taken over and I’m posting this on a random day in between both.

1 Comment »

  1. Aren’t brothers great! I love my brother so much. He is older and I have always looked up to him. I wanted to be just like him.

    Comment by Jes the Bes — May 6, 2009 @ 7:00 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

